So, who do I think I am?

Writers are a fickle bunch. And I don’t mean authors, authors are a whole other beast.  I’m talking about You. Or me. Or anyone who picks up a pen (or pencil if you’re into that sort of thing) and makes a mark. The physical act of writing is so subjective, it’s almost irrelevant what one blogger might have to say about a writing instrument compared to another. Unless, of course, the reader has a frame of reference for those opinions. My goal today is to create that frame of reference for my readers. To give you some insight into how and where I write in the hopes that it will help you formulate your own opinions and make informed decision when the time comes to make a purchase.

So, who am I? At the time of this article, I am a late 20s office worker whose professional paper trail exists almost solely in the digital realm. I keep an analog daily planner for basic to-do list style notes and task lists, and I carry a standard craft Field Notes Brand book for quick on-the-spot notes, thoughts, and doodles. My writing style can best be described as hastily-scrawled, but I’ll make it legible for writing samples and the like. And yes, I am right handed.

No two writers are the same. Ultimately it comes down to your unique experience to determine the value of an item. Hopefully this shines some light on my state of mind as you are reading these posts and rants about various writing instruments and stationery platforms.

 

2 thoughts on “So, who do I think I am?

  1. I’m a decade or so older but I am also a pen & stationery addict. Have you tried the bullet journal technique? How does the Field Notes hold up? I haven’t tried those yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I haven’t tried the bullet journal system yet, but I think that’s the next step in analog task management. The Field Notes is showing signs of wear, I’ll get some info posted soon. I’m purposefully staying way from the special editions, I don’t need to start another collection right now. The standard “craft” sets are $10 for 3 so you absolutely get what you pay for. I’ve also looked at the Word. brand notebooks which are the exact same size and price as Field Notes, but have an interior format similar to the Bullet Journal system.

      Thanks for the comment!

      – The Poor Penman

      Like

Leave a Reply

